090 More Samples

One of my favorite shows I have done was number 33, Samples, playing both the sampled song and the song in which the sample was used. I had so much fun with it, I did another one once I found enough material. Very basically, sampling involves taking portions of a previously recorded song (or any recorded noise for that matter, but I focus on songs) and using a part of it along with newly recorded material and/or other samples to make a new composition. It is very common in Rap and Hip-Hop, so you’ll find a lot of that here.

I Chase the Devil – Max Romeo & The Upsetters

Lucifer (clean) – JAY Z

Edge of Seventeen – Stevie Nicks

Bootylicious – Destiny’s Child

Someone Saved My Life Tonight – Elton John

Good Morning – Kanye West

When Doves Cry – Prince

Pray – MC Hammer

Root Down (And Get It) – Jimmy Smith

Root Down – The Beastie Boys

Leave a Reply

